[Skip to Content]Privacy Policy
WWII in the Philippines Conference-Resistance, Retaliation, Reconciliation & Rescission
10:00 AM - 11:59 PM McLaren Conference Center
Date: September 22, 2018 to September 22, 2018
Where: McLaren Conference Center, 2130 Fulton Street, San Francisco, California, United States, 94117
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Education
Ticket Price: N/A
Conference speakers will come from the Philippines and across the country.   Admission tickets:  Adults = $20 (Includes Boxed Lunch)  Students = Free Admission with ID.  Please email cecilia@bataanlegacy.org. Program for 4th Conference on WWII in the Philippines Saturday, September 22, 2018 University of San Francisco McLaren Conference Center 2130 Fulton St., San Francisco, CA  9:30-10:00        Door Opens, Registration, etc. 10:00                  Color Guard by USF ROTC Cadets led by Master Sgt. (Ret.) Stanley Kamiya, 91st                                 Division 10:05                  National Anthems of the Philippines & the U.S. by Kasamahan at USF Chorale Group 10:10                  Pledge of Allegiance by Nathan Magsayo, President of Kasamahan at USF 10:15                  Invocation by Father Paul Fitzgerald, S.J. 10:20                  Welcome by Rachel Van Cleave, Chair of 2018 Conference 10:25                  Keynote Speech by Father Paul Fitzgerald, S.J., President, University of San Francisco 10:35                  Implementation of WWII in the Philippines Lesson Plans Tracie Noriega, Moderator, New Haven Unified School District, Union City, CA Honey Gubuan, East Side Union High School District, San Jose, CA Amy Punkar, Jefferson High School, Daly City, CA Shelby Thompson, Fontainebleau High School, Mandeville, LA 11:45    Rescission Act by Gabriella Vecellio, Junior Student from Ronald Reagan High School, Milwaukee, WI 12:00    Bernard Karganilla - Textbook on Filipino & American Guerrillas 12:15    Faces to Remember Photo Exhibition by Agnes Lopez 12:30    Call to Action (Fundraising Call) by Mrs. Connie Hall-McHugh 12:35    Lunch 1:35      Military & Civilian Resistance Desiree Benipayo - Chief Justice Jose Abad Santos Anna Pearman - Harry Fenton & the Cebu Guerrilla Resistance Elizabeth Ann Besa-Quirino - Lourdes Reyes Besa, Civilian Recipient of U.S. Medal of Freedom Chris Larsen, Jr. - Chris Larsen, Underground Resistance, Santo Tomas Internmen